Skip to content

Infotable: Jewish people played a critical role in ending apartheid in South Africa. Meet a few of the most prominent Jews who spearheaded the fight for freedom.

Click the link above to download the image in FULL RESOLUTION as a PNG file.

Displayed below is the image. The resolution is compressed – if you want to save and download it, use the button above. Each individual has been detailed with sources and detailed information, linked below.

This is a preview of the InfoTable. If you save this, it will be compressed and pixelated. Please use the Download button at the top of the page to save.

“In the anti Apartheid South African Liberation Struggle it was estimated that Jews were represented by 2,500% in proportion to the white population. This stamp issue acknowledged the extraordinary sacrifices made by Jews to the liberation of their African brethren, and these stamps recognized some of the most significant contributors to global humanity in the 20th Century.” – The Legendary Heroes of Africa joint issue statement

Joe Slovo

Ruth First

Harry Oppenheimer

Nadine Gordimer

Baron Joffe (Joel Goodman Joffe),_Baron_Joffe

Fun Fact: Joffe’s maternal granfather, Abraham Zevi Idelsohn was the teacher of Moshe Nathanson, composer of Hava Nagila.

Arthur Chaskalson

Sydney & Felicia Kentridge

Harold Joseph Hanson

Helen Suzman (Helen Gavronsky)

Solly Jacobson

Denis Goldberg

Ronnie Kasrils

Harry Bloom

Pieter-Dirk Uys

Johnny Clegg

Harry Schwarz

Lazar Sidelsky

Nat Bregman

Shulamith Muller

Colin Legum

Baruch Hirson

Wolfie Kodesh

Albie Sachs

Israel A. Maisels

Harold Wolpe

Mendel Kaplan

Ina Perlman

Bob Hepple

Lionel “Rusty” and Hilda Bernstein

Arthur Goldreich

Bernard Friedman

Pauline Podbrey (Pessel Podbrez)

Sonia Bunting

Phyllis Altman

Harold Rubens

Yetta Barenblatt

Benjamin Pogrund

Richard Goldstone

Lionel & Sadie Forman

Eli Weinberg

Hymie & Esther Barsel

Ray Alexander Simons (Rachel Ester Alexandrowich)

Norma Kitson (Norma Belle Cranko)

Norman Levy

Leon Levy

Ronald Segal

Jules Browde

Geoff Budlender